Do you know a former faculty, staff or alumni member who is deserving of being recognized by the Faculty of Health Sciences at McMaster University?

Nominations are now open for the 2019 inductees to the Community of Distinction.

The Community of Distinction is the Faculty of Health Sciences' highest honour, in tribute to those who have brought worldwide renown to the university.

The Community was founded in 2003 and has since inducted 57 members. Their portraits, and a description of their work, are in a gallery in the lobby of the Ewart Angus Centre of McMaster's Health Sciences Centre.

"Those inducted into the Community have made a tremendous impact on the advancement of health sciences and education in Canada and around the world," said Paul O'Byrne, dean and vice-president of the Faculty of Health Sciences. "Recipients often tell us that being recognized by their peers at the Faculty of Health Sciences makes this honour a highlight of their careers."

The 2018 inductees were the late Heather Arthur of the School of Nursing; Michael Boyle of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioural Neurosciences, and Saroj Saigal of the Department of Pediatrics.

The criterion is distinguished contribution in scholarship or in the science or delivery of health care, or demonstrated outstanding leadership that is recognized by peers. Those eligible include former full-time and part-time faculty, staff and alumni of the Faculty of Health Sciences. Candidates cannot be currently employed by or hold a contract with the Faculty of Health Sciences.  An outline of requirements may be found at Community of Distinction Nomination Criteria.

The deadline for nominations is Friday, June 7, 2019. An event to honour the new inductees will be held in November.

For more information, contact Betty Chung by email at or by phone at 905-525-9140, ext. 20914.