Programs in Geriatric Medicine at McMaster

Welcome! The Division of Geriatric Medicine prides itself on exemplary patient care, clinical teaching, educational scholarship, and research excellence. By emphasizing thoughtful acute and chronic management of frail patients with multiple comorbidities, the division first and foremost promotes the training of outstanding, astute clinicians comfortable with complexity and ambiguity. Learner wellness is prioritized at an organizational level, with individualized residency and fellowship training experiences available and promoted within a highly supportive culture. A wide breadth of learning opportunities is offered, including acute and chronic care within Hamilton tertiary care centres, the McMaster regional campuses, community hospitals, chronic care hospitals, long-term care, and in the community through outreach programs and virtual care. Division members’ educational contributions have also been recognized at local, provincial, and national levels including awards from the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario, the Canadian Geriatrics Society, and the Canadian Association for Medical Education.


2019/2020 Education Awards

  • 2019 Ms. Jasneet Dhaliwal (MD Class 2019 McMaster University), “Dr. Irene Turpie’s Undergraduate Medicine Subspecialty Program Academic Achievement Award”

  • Dr. John Gong, R5 Geriatric Medicine Fellow, McMaster University UGME, Medicine Subspecialty Undergraduate Teaching Award

  • Dr. Sharon Marr, Canadian Geriatric Society Peter McCracken Physician Innovator in Education Award

  • Dr. Caitlin McArthur, Ontario Physiotherapy Association Kim Wolny Research Grant – July 1/2018-June 30/2019, Physical Therapy Alumni Achievement Awardee 2019 and 2019 Young Investigator Award, IOF Congress

  • Dr. Christopher Patterson, Life Long Achievement Award - 2019 Update in Geriatrics Day

  • Dr. Judith Seary (clinical scholar), Awarded 2 nd Prize for her Harvard Certificate Course

  • Dr. Richard Sztramko, Health Information Resource Centre (HIRC), Digital Health Awards, iGeriCare, Silver Star award in web based Digital health: Interactive Content/Rich Media Category

  • Dr. Irene Turpie, Professor Emeritus, Certificate of Humanitarian Contribution: Union of Medical Relief Organizations of Canada Recipient

  • Dr. Tricia Woo, McMaster University, Department of Medicine, Under Graduate Medical Education, Medicine Subspecialty Teaching Award

Accessibility for Ontarians With Disabilities Act (AODA)


The Faculty of Health Sciences is committed to providing a website that is accessible to the widest possible audience. If there is an accessibility issue with this website, please contact us at