Emergency Medicine

Division of the Department of Medicine at McMaster

Also known as “MacEmerg,” we are comprised of the Departments of Medicine, Family Medicine and Pediatrics. We are a dynamic team of over 100 academic Emergency Physician faculty across four Emergency Departments in Hamilton and multiple other Departments in Niagara, Waterloo, and beyond.

Emergency Medicine Division, Department of Medicine

McMaster is well known for cohesive faculty-resident interactions and faculty across all divisions are actively involved in Postgraduate Education. Under the leadership of Drs. Alim Pardhan and Kelly van Diepen, the Royal College Emergency Medicine Residency Training program is one of the largest in the country. Emergency Medicine faculty and residents are also actively involved in Undergraduate Medical Education with a robust pre-Clerkship bootcamp and Clerkship education program (lead by Dr. Alim Nagji).

Education is a large focus for our faculty. We have numerous faculty who have completed Masters Degrees in Education and RCPSC Clinician Educator diplomas and have received local, national, and international education awards. There is a strong connection with the McMaster Faculty of Health Sciences Program in Education Research, Innovation and Theory (MERIT) lead by the Assistant Dean, Dr. Jonathan Sherbino. Many of our faculty and residents are involved in educational research and have contributed to numerous national and international FOAMed activities including blogs and podcasts including EMSimCases.com (Dr. Kyla Caners), ALiEM, CanadiEM.org, and more. Our MacEmerg Continuing Professional Development (CPD) program, under the leadership of Dr. Alex Chorley, has numerous innovative programs, including the MacEmerg Podcasts. Strong links to the Faculty of Health Sciences Program is ensured through the Program for Faculty Development through the Assistant Dean Dr. Teresa Chan.

Emergency Medicine has numerous faculty involved in subspecialties including Sports Medicine, Toxicology/Pharmacology, Leadership/Administration, Trauma and Simulation. We support the RCPSC Area of Focused Competence Programs including Point of Care Ultrasound (Dr. Ian Buchanan), Prehospital & Transport Medicine (Drs. Michelle Welsford & Clare Wallner), and the Clinician Educator Program (Dr. Teresa Chan).

Research (Dr. Mat Mercuri Ph.D.), Quality Improvement (Dr. Shawn Mondoux), and Guideline Development programs are supported by numerous local, provincial, and national funding programs and peer-reviewed grants.  The residents are supported through focused faculty-led research and QI education and projects and have numerous national presentations and peer-reviewed literature publications.

Dr. Michelle Welsford, Division Director
Dr. Michelle Welsford, Division Director

Accessibility for Ontarians With Disabilities Act (AODA)


The Faculty of Health Sciences is committed to providing a website that is accessible to the widest possible audience. If there is an accessibility issue with this website, please contact us at fhsaoda@mcmaster.ca.