Community of Distinction

The Community of Distinction is a high-profile gallery in the Ewart Angus Centre of McMaster University's Health Sciences Centre. It honours Faculty of Health Sciences' alumni, faculty and staff who have brought distinction and recognition to McMaster University and the Faculty of Health Sciences through outstanding scholarship and innovative research.

"We're a relatively young Faculty, but we have a clear history of excellence and innovation. It's important we recognize the individuals and groups who have put us on the map," said John Kelton, then dean and vice-president of the Faculty when the honour was created.

The gallery was established in 2003 and honoured nine members. Annually, up to five individuals may be selected for inclusion in the Community of Distinction.

James Anderson (2005)
Maureen Andrew (2017)
Oded Bar-Or (2007)
Howard S. Barrows (2005)
John Basmajian (2003)
John Bienenstock (2014)
Arthur N. Bourns (2008)
Michael Boyle
Gina Browne (2019)
Moran Campbell (2004)
May Cohen (2003)
Barbara Cooper (2013)
Edwin E. Daniel (2006)
Peter Dent (2015)
Alba DiCenso (2016)
Jerry Dolovich (2003)
Nathan B. Epstein (2009)
Murray Enkin (2003)
John Evans (2003)
Barbara Ferrier (2009)
Susan French (2004)
Jack Gauldie (2015)
Michael Gent (2006)
Peter George (2015)
Gerhard Gerber (2012)
Frank Graham (2012)
Frederick E. Hargreave (2011)
Delsworth Harnish (2019)
Brian Haynes (2017)
Jack Hirsh (2008)
Richard H. Hunt (2016)
Norman L. Jones (2010)
Karyn Kaufman (2010)
Mary Law (2016)
Jonathan Lomas (2014)
Alan McComas (2013)
Ludmila (Niky) Melichar (2006)
C. Barber Mueller (2005)
J. Fraser Mustard (2003)
Geoff Norman (2017)
Bernie O'Brien (2007)
David R. (Dan) Offord (2005)
Alma Reid (2003)
Raelene Rathbone (2014)
Beatrix Robinow (2004)
Helen Saarinen-Rahikka (2008)
David Sackett (2003)
Malcolm Sears (2019)
John Sellors (2012)
Jack Sinclair (2007)
Ruth Snider (2010)
William Spaulding (2004)
Henry (Harry) Thode (2003)
John Thomas (2011)
George Torrance (2006)
Karin von Schilling (2006)
William Walsh (2004)
Alvin Zipursky (2009)
Accessibility for Ontarians With Disabilities Act (AODA)


The Faculty of Health Sciences is committed to providing a website that is accessible to the widest possible audience. If there is an accessibility issue with this website, please contact us at