Regulatory Bodies and Professional Associations

Occupational therapy in Canada is a regulated profession. The self-regulatory bodies, in the interest of public protection, support registered occupational therapists to ensure that they are competent, ethical and accountable in enabling the health of Canadians. All occupational therapists must register with the relevant regulatory body. Internationally educated occupational therapists should first contact ACOTRO to begin the Substantial Equivalency Assessment System (SEAS).

List of Occupational Therapy Professional Associations in Canada


  • Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists (CAOT)
  • British Columbia CAOT-BC
  • Alberta Society of Alberta Occupational Therapists (SAOT)
  • Saskatchewan Saskatchewan Society of Occupational Therapists (SSOT)
  • Manitoba Manitoba Society of Occupational Therapists (MSOT)
  • Ontario Society of Occupational Therapists (OSOT)
  • Québec ACE-QC
  • New Brunswick Association of Occupational Therapists (NBAOT)
  • Nova Scotia Society of Occupational Therapists (NSSOT)
  • Prince Edward Island Occupational Therapy Society (PEIOTS)
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Association of Occupational Therapists (NLAOT)
  • Yukon Association of Yukon Occupational Therapists (AYOT)

The provincial professional associations along with CAOT  make up the Alliance of Canadian Occupational Therapy Professional Associations - ACOTPA.

Accessibility for Ontarians With Disabilities Act (AODA)


The Faculty of Health Sciences is committed to providing a website that is accessible to the widest possible audience. If there is an accessibility issue with this website, please contact us at