Two faculty members are being recognized for their outstanding leadership with the title of Distinguished University Professor.

Harriet MacMillan and Eric Brown are the latest recipients of the honour at McMaster University.

MacMillan is a professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioural Neurosciences and holds the Chedoke Health Chair in Child Psychiatry.

Her work has led to a better understanding of the impact of exposure to violence and its link to mental health outcomes and has spurred international prevention efforts, which she has helped to evaluate.

Brown is a Professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Biomedical Sciences and a member of the Michael G. DeGroote Institute for Infectious Disease Research.

His research program in antimicrobial drug discovery, and innovative leadership in education, culminated in the establishment of the hybrid undergraduate and graduate program in Biomedical Discovery and Commercialization.

The title of Distinguished University Professor, created in 1996, is conferred only on faculty members who have demonstrated distinction and impact well beyond McMaster.

Those awarded the title must have demonstrated an outstanding and sustained research record that demonstrates international impact and recognition.

Honourees should also be able to demonstrate excellence in teaching and learning, as well as a history of service that has had an impact on the community.

No more than two per cent of all full-time faculty can hold the title.

MacMillan and Brown will be formally conferred with the title of Distinguished University Professor at the Faculty of Health Sciences convocation on May 24, 2018.

Accessibility for Ontarians With Disabilities Act (AODA)


The Faculty of Health Sciences is committed to providing a website that is accessible to the widest possible audience. If there is an accessibility issue with this website, please contact us at