Continuing Education in Midwifery

Students at work

Please note that some of our continuing education courses have been postponed until further notice, but online courses are still available. We will be adjusting the format of some of our courses in response to the need for limited in-person teaching. Please check back for updates or email cmereg@mcmaster.ca to be put on a waitlist for courses which interest you.


Overview

Our suite of continuing professional development courses are designed specifically for practicing midwives, and other health care providers who provide primary care to the healthy childbearing person, including during the antepartum, intrapartum and postpartum periods. We also offer courses in related areas such as family planning and care of the newborn. 

Our Mission

To provide continuing education for the learning needs of practicing midwives and primary maternity care providers who are interested in building their portfolio of clinical expertise.

About Us

The Midwifery Education Program (MEP) at McMaster brings together leaders in educational innovation and curriculum design. We are dedicated to offering continuing professional development (CPD) to practicing midwives in Ontario and across the country to advance their knowledge, skills and abilities in areas of clinical expertise that informs the core competencies of midwives and in areas of expanded scope.

View our Midwifery offerings:

ALARM

Dates to be determined

Contraceptive Care Part 1

Wednesday, January 19, 2022

Contraceptive Care Part 2: Continuing Education for Healthcare Providers

Tues Jan 18 and Wed Jan 19, 2022

Tues Feb 1 and Wed Feb 2, 2022

Wed Feb 9 and Thurs Feb 10, 2022

Wed Mar 2 and Thurs Mar 3, 2022

Tues Mar 8 and Wed Mar 9, 2022

Wed Mar 30 and Thurs Mar 31, 2022


Neonatal Resuscitation Program NRP

Dates to be determined

Fetal Health Surveillance FHSL

Dates to be determined

Fetal Health Surveillance Refresher Course FHSL Refresher

Dates to be determined

Surgical Assistant in Obstetrics: C-Section

Dates to be determined

Point of Care Ultrasound for Maternity Care

Dates to be determined

Future Midwifery Courses:

Induction and Augmentation of Labour



Accessibility for Ontarians With Disabilities Act (AODA)

 

The Faculty of Health Sciences is committed to providing a website that is accessible to the widest possible audience. If there is an accessibility issue with this website, please contact us at fhsweb@mcmaster.ca.