A sketch of Michael G. DeGroote
  • “I am investing in new discoveries in health care and in the delivery of health care.”

    - Michael G. DeGroote

Applications are now open for the latest round of the Michael G. DeGroote Fellowship Awards. The application deadline is April 1, 2023.

The DeGroote Fellowship Awards are offered in TWO categories:

1) The Michael G. DeGroote Fellowship Award in Basic Biomedical Science. Candidates conducting basic science research will be eligible for the Basic Biomedical Science Fellowship Award 

2) The Michael G. DeGroote Fellowship Award in Clinical Research. Candidates pursuing clinical research will be eligible for the Clinical Research Fellowship Award.

Applicants must identify in their application which award they are applying for. Separate selection committees review the respective applicants for each award.

What are the Michael G. DeGroote Fellowship Awards?

The prestigious Michael G. DeGroote Fellowship Awards provide postdoctoral candidates in the Faculty of Health Sciences the opportunity to pursue leading-edge health sciences research.

The awards are designed for candidates who have an exemplary academic record and are interested in pursuing postdoctoral work in one of the numerous areas of research excellence in the Faculty of Health Sciences at McMaster University. Funded through the generosity of Michael G. DeGroote, the award will provide support of $40,000 for one year. This amount is to be supplemented with $10,000 from applicants’ proposed supervisor(s), for a total annual amount of $50,000 for one year.

Successful candidates for these awards will have the opportunity to work with Health Sciences faculty who are conducting innovative research and are considered among the best in their fields. They will have access to state-of-the-art facilities that enable progressive research designed to impact health care throughout the world.


Please note that candidates must fulfill or have fulfilled all degree requirements for a PhD, PhD-equivalent or health professional degree in order to be eligible for these awards.

To be eligible for this program, you must have started your postdoctoral or health professional degree studies on, or after, July 1, 2022. Additionally, eligible candidates must be within five years of receiving their PhD or MD. Individuals who completed post-doctoral studies or a fellowship at McMaster under a different supervisor are not eligible.

The candidate must plan to conduct their research in a department or school (or related centre or institute) that resides in the Faculty of Health Sciences at McMaster University.

For candidates who hold (or are completing) a PhD, the proposed supervisor(s) listed in your application must be different than your PhD supervisor. Your proposed supervisor must be from within the Faculty of Health Sciences, but you could have a co-supervisor that is from another Faculty.

Priority will be given to those applicants whose graduate training has not been exclusively at McMaster.


McMaster researchers honoured with YWCA Women of Distinction awards

Mar 3, 2023, 14:19 PM by User Not Found
Three Faculty of Health Sciences researchers were named Women of Distinction by the YWCA Hamilton’s annual awards ceremony on March 2.

Three Faculty of Health Sciences (FHS) researchers were named Women of Distinction by the Young Women’s Christian Association (YWCA) Hamilton’s annual awards ceremony on March 2.

Professors Sonia Anand and Natasha Johnson won the main award category, while integrated biomedical engineering and health sciences program student Shayna Earle won in the Young Trailblazer category.

Their citations say:

Sonia Anand

Dr. Sonia Anand is internationally recognized for her research and advocacy for women’s cardiovascular health and populations of diverse ancestral origins.

Over her career, the McMaster University professor of medicine and epidemiology and senior scientist of the Population Health Research Institute has earned a global reputation for prioritizing research into women’s cardiovascular health, identifying health risk factors in diverse ethnic groups and for developing new therapies that benefit high-risk vascular patients globally.

Her work in these areas has substantially impacted public policy and clinical practice locally, nationally, and globally.

Anand is a mentor and advocate for women in academic medicine and champions equity and inclusion within academia, healthcare, and the broader Hamilton community.

Natasha Johnson

Dr. Natasha Johnson is a pediatrician and adolescent medicine specialist. After graduating from McGill University, she completed a fellowship in Adolescent Medicine at the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto. She joined McMaster’s Department of Pediatrics in 2006 and is an associate professor.

Johnson has developed a clinical, educational, and research focus in adolescent sexual health, specifically with marginalized, historically oppressed youth and equity-seeking populations. She established a clinical service for trans and gender-diverse youth, the first interdisciplinary service of this kind in the region.

In 2021, she was appointed the inaugural associate chair of Equity, Diversity and Inclusion. She was previously the division lead for adolescent medicine and medical co-director of the Eating Disorder Program at McMaster Children’s hospital.

Shayna Earle – Young Trailblazer category

Shayna Earle is a fourth-year student in McMaster’s integrated biomedical engineering and health sciences program (iBioMed) where she focuses on Chemical Engineering.

She is the co-president of the McMaster Women in Engineering society and a dedicated advocate for reducing the barriers in engineering for women and non-female identifying students.

Her work in this area has been shared on the international stage and is contributing to shifts in pedagogy that will shape the future of engineering. In addition, Earle is an accomplished early-career researcher focusing on models of viral manufacturing processes in cancer immunotherapy.

In 2022, Shayna was awarded the Canadian Engineering Memorial Foundation’s Enbridge 2022 Undergraduate Ambassador Award for her leadership in advocacy for women in engineering.

McMaster’s fourth YWCA Women of Distinction winner was Shaila Jamal, a PhD researcher at McMaster with training in geography and planning.

Also honoured was community organizer Marybeth Leis Druery, who has mentored many McMaster students in self-awareness, values, leadership development and volunteering with Hamilton’s underserved communities.

Accessibility for Ontarians With Disabilities Act (AODA)


The Faculty of Health Sciences is committed to providing a website that is accessible to the widest possible audience. If there is an accessibility issue with this website, please contact us at fhsaoda@mcmaster.ca.