CCCS and CIHR-ICRH established the Distinguished Lecturer Award in Critical Care Sciences to recognize significant contributions to the advancement of critical care sciences in both Canada and internationally. The award honours outstanding investigators who have conducted the majority of their research in Canada and who have contributed to the advancement of critical care sciences. 

Dr. Meade's legacy in the field of mechanical ventilation as well as her effective leadership and extensive mentorship were highlighted by the selecting panel.