About Us

Richard C Austin

PhD
Medicine, Nephrology
Richard Austin
Professor
Amgen Canada Research Chair in Nephrology

905-522-1155 ext. 35175
austinr@mcmaster.ca


Scott Brimble

MD, MSc., FRCP(C)
Medicine, Nephrology
Dr. Scott Brimble
Associate Professor
Nephrology Division Director

Clinical interests: Chronic kidney disease, peritoneal dialysis, and indigenous kidney health

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Clinical research in chronic kidney disease care, Provincial Medical Lead for Multi-care Kidney Clinics and Provincial Medical Lead for First Nations, Inuit, Métis and Urban Indigenous Kidney Health at Ontario Renal Network (Ontario Health)


brimbles@mcmaster.ca


Euan Carlisle

MD, FRCPC
Medicine, Nephrology
Euan Carslile
Associate Professor


euan@mcmaster.ca


Catherine Clase

MB BChir, BA, MSc, FRCPC
Medicine, Nephrology; Health Research Methods, Evidence, and Impact
Catherine Clase
Associate Professor
Medical Lead, Transitional Kidney Clinic; Editor-in-Chief, Canadian Journal of Kidney Health and Disease
RESEARCH INTERESTS: Advanced chronic kidney disease; potassium; diet; bleeding, thrombosis and anticoagulation; cloth masks.

905-521-6094
clase@mcmaster.ca


Azim Gangji

MSc, Pharm, FRCPC, FACP
Medicine, Nephrology
Azim Gangji
Professor
Director, Nephrology and Transplant Fellowship Program; Committee Chair, Medicine Specialty Programs; Vice President, Education, St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton
RESEARCH INTERESTS: Volume assessment in dialysis patients, Nocturnal hemodialysis, Case based learning in postgraduate medical education

905-522-1155
gangji@mcmaster.ca


Alistair Ingram

MD, FRCPC
Medicine, Nephrology
Alistair Ingram
Professor
Chief of Medicine, St. Joseph's Healthcare


ingrama@mcmaster.ca


Ali Iqbal

MD, FRCPC
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for Ali Iqbal
Assistant Professor


ali.iqbal@medportal.ca


Joan Krepinsky

MSc, MD, FRCPC
Medicine, Nephrology
Krepinsky, Joan
Professor
RESEARCH INTERESTS: Molecular mechanisms of fibrosis in diabetic and hypertensive kidney disease

905-525-9140 ext. 34991
krepinj@mcmaster.ca


Peter J Margetts

BSc, MD, PhD, FRCPC
Medicine, Nephrology
Peter Margetts
Professor
MD/PhD Program Director

Clinical and research interests in peritoneal dialysis, general nephrology, and hereditary kidney disease

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Mechanisms of fibrosis; Peritoneal fibrosis and the implication in clinical peritoneal dialysis; epithelial mesenchymal transition and angiogenesis; hypoxia and the role in fibrosis; T-cells and the interaction with fibrosis; adenovirus based gene transfer to the kidney and progressive renal disease.

905-525-9140 ext. 32299
margetts@mcmaster.ca


Matthew Miller

MD, MSc, FRCPC
Medicine, Nephrology
Miller, Matthew
Associate Professor


mmiller@stjosham.on.ca


Amber Molnar

Medicine, Nephrology
Amber Molnar
Assistant Professor

905-521-2100 ext. 33787
molnaa1@mcmaster.ca


Christian Rabbat

MD, FRCPC
Medicine, Nephrology
Christian Rabbat
Associate Professor
Head of Service for Nephrology, St. Joseph's Healthcare

Dr. Rabbat participates in provincial committees related to chronic kidney disease funding and access to transplantation.

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Clinical investigation in chronic kidney disease and dialysis.

(905) 522-1155
rabbatc@mcmaster.ca


Christine Ribic

MD, MSc, FRCPC
Medicine, Nephrology
Christine Ribic
Associate Professor
Director Resident Research

(905) 522-1155
christine.ribic@medportal.ca


Karen To

MD
Medicine, Nephrology
Karen To
Associate Professor


karen.to@medportal.ca


Darin Treleaven

MD, MSc., FRCPC
Medicine, Nephrology
Darin Treleaven
Associate Professor
Director, Kidney Transplant Program; Chief Medical Officer - Transplantation, Trillium Gift of Life Network
RESEARCH INTERESTS: Living kidney donor health, allocation of deceased donor organs, optimal utilization of deceased donor organs

(905) 522-1155 ext. 33261
trelead@mcmaster.ca


Michael Walsh

MD
Medicine, Nephrology; Health Research Methods, Evidence, and Impact
Michael Walsh
Associate Professor

Clinical interests: glomerulonephritis, systemic vasculitis, and end-stage kidney disease

RESEARCH INTERESTS: epidemiology of glomerulonephritis and vasculitis, and outcomes of kidney failure; clinical trials in glomerulonephritis, vasculitis, cardiovascular disease, and symptoms of kidney failure; clinical trial methodology

905-525-9140 ext. 34055
mwwalsh@mcmaster.ca


Robert Yang

Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for Robert Yang
Associate Professor


ryang@mcmaster.ca


Seychelle Yohanna

MD, MSc (QIPS), FRCPC
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for Seychelle Yohanna
Assistant Professor

Academic Interests: Quality Improvement and Patient Safety in Medical Education, Increasing Access to Kidney Transplant, Improving the Efficiency of the Living Kidney Donor Evaluation Process

905-522-1155 ext. 33261
yohannas@mcmaster.ca


Khalid Al-Nedawi

MD
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for Khalid Al-Nedawi
Assistant Clinical Professor (Adjunct)


alnedaw@mcmaster.ca


Mark Benaroia

MD
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for Mark Benaroia
Assistant Clinical Professor


benaroim@mcmaster.ca


Andrew Burke

MD
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for Andrew Burke
Assistant Clinical Professor


burkea7@mcmaster.ca


David Churchill

MD
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for David Churchill
Professor Emeritus


churchil@mcmaster.ca


Oded Friedman

MD
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for Oded Friedman
Assistant Clinical Professor


friedmao@mcmaster.ca


Ayesha Ghayur

MD
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for Ayesha Ghayur
Assistant Clinical Professor


ghayura@mcmaster.ca


Shivinder Jolly

MD
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for Shivinder Jolly
Assistant Clinical Professor


jollys1@mcmaster.ca


Mukesh Khandelwal

MD
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for Mukesh Khandelwal
Assistant Clinical Professor


khandelm@mcmaster.ca


Danny Lagrotteria

MD
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for Danny Lagrotteria
Assistant Clinical Professor


lagrotdd@mcmaster.ca


David Ludwin

MD
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for David Ludwin
Professor Emeritus


ludwin@mcmaster.ca


Vishwanath Mahabir

MD
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for Vishwanath Mahabir
Assistant Clinical Professor


mahabivk@mcmaster.ca


Sanjay Pandeya

MD
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for Sanjay Pandeya
Assistant Clinical Professor


pandeyas@mcmaster.ca


Elijah Rabin

MD, FRCPC
Medicine, General Internal Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for Elijah Rabin
Associate Clinical Professor


rabine@mcmaster.ca


Gerald Rosenstein

MD
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for Gerald Rosenstein
Assistant Clinical Professor (Adjunct)


rosenstg@mcmaster.ca


David Russell

MD
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for David Russell
Assistant Clinical Professor (Adjunct)


russellj@mcmaster.ca


Daniel Sapir

MD
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for Daniel Sapir
Assistant Clinical Professor (Adjunct)


sapird@mcmaster.ca


Kinsey Smith

MD
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for Kinsey Smith
Professor Emeritus


smithekm@mcmaster.ca


Louise Vitou

MD
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for Louise Vitou
Assistant Clinical Professor (Adjunct)


vitoul@mcmaster.ca


Michael Wang

MD
Medicine, Nephrology
Placeholder portrait image for Michael Wang
Assistant Clinical Professor (Adjunct)


wangm4@mcmaster.ca


Scott Brimble

MD, MSc., FRCP(C)
Medicine, Nephrology
Dr. Scott Brimble
Associate Professor
Nephrology Division Director

Clinical interests: Chronic kidney disease, peritoneal dialysis, and indigenous kidney health

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Clinical research in chronic kidney disease care, Provincial Medical Lead for Multi-care Kidney Clinics and Provincial Medical Lead for First Nations, Inuit, Métis and Urban Indigenous Kidney Health at Ontario Renal Network (Ontario Health)


brimbles@mcmaster.ca


Azim Gangji

MSc, Pharm, FRCPC, FACP
Medicine, Nephrology
Azim Gangji
Professor
Director, Nephrology and Transplant Fellowship Program; Committee Chair, Medicine Specialty Programs; Vice President, Education, St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton
RESEARCH INTERESTS: Volume assessment in dialysis patients, Nocturnal hemodialysis, Case based learning in postgraduate medical education

905-522-1155
gangji@mcmaster.ca


Leadership

Scott Brimble

MD, MSc., FRCP(C)
Medicine, Nephrology
Dr. Scott Brimble
Associate Professor
Nephrology Division Director

Clinical interests: Chronic kidney disease, peritoneal dialysis, and indigenous kidney health

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Clinical research in chronic kidney disease care, Provincial Medical Lead for Multi-care Kidney Clinics and Provincial Medical Lead for First Nations, Inuit, Métis and Urban Indigenous Kidney Health at Ontario Renal Network (Ontario Health)


brimbles@mcmaster.ca


Azim Gangji

MSc, Pharm, FRCPC, FACP
Medicine, Nephrology
Azim Gangji
Professor
Director, Nephrology and Transplant Fellowship Program; Committee Chair, Medicine Specialty Programs; Vice President, Education, St. Joseph's Healthcare Hamilton
RESEARCH INTERESTS: Volume assessment in dialysis patients, Nocturnal hemodialysis, Case based learning in postgraduate medical education

905-522-1155
gangji@mcmaster.ca