At the Canadian Pain Society 2019 Annual Scientific Meeting, the Honourable Ginette Petitpas Taylor, Minister of Health, announced the establishment of the Canadian Pain Task Force.

The eight-member Task Force includes advocates who have lived experience with chronic pain, as well as researchers and health providers who have experience preventing and managing pain. In addition to the Task Force itself, an External Advisory Panel was formed to provide advice and information on certain elements of the Task Force’s mandate. Four members of the Task Force and four members of the Advisory Panel also have ties to the Canadian Pain Care Forum and its continued work towards a National Pain Strategy. The National Pain Centre's own director, Dr. Norm Buckley, was asked and has accepted a position on the Panel.

The Panel has already met with the Task Force once and looks forward to continuing to provide valuable input to help address this issue. 

Accessibility for Ontarians With Disabilities Act (AODA)


The Faculty of Health Sciences is committed to providing a website that is accessible to the widest possible audience. If there is an accessibility issue with this website, please contact us at