Call for Nominations to present the 2020 Labelle Lecture

The Labelle Lectureship Committee of McMaster University is seeking nominations for a promising junior health services researcher — a rising star in the field — to give the 2020-21 Labelle Lecture. The Labelle Lectureship Series, which marks its 29th anniversary this year, is held in the fall to honour Roberta Labelle, one of CHEPA’s founding members. Her death in 1991 was unexpected and occurred when broad recognition for her research in health economics was just starting to emerge. CHEPA and what is now the Department of Health Research, Methods, Evidence and Impact (HEI), collaborated on establishing the Annual Labelle Lectureship Series in her memory.

Given that many early career researchers have been disproportionately affected by the ongoing pandemic and the scarcity of awards for promising junior researchers, after careful consideration, the Labelle Lectureship Committee has decided not to cancel this year’s Labelle Lecture. Additionally, the Committee has decided to increase the stipend offered to the Lecturer to $2000.

The Labelle Lecturer can be from any country and should have these characteristics:
• Is early in his/her career development (assistant or early associate level), and shows tremendous promise based on early research accomplishments;
• Is conducting research on a topic that challenges existing methods or accepted ideas in health research;
• Is capable of delivering a high-quality lecture that will be of interest to a multidisciplinary audience of health researchers and decision makers;
• Is able to spend one to two days at McMaster to present a one-hour lecture, followed by a reception; meet with faculty and students and attend a dinner. However, given the current circumstances, it is envisaged that the Lecture will be live-streamed in late fall 2020 and that the in-person visit to McMaster University may be replaced with virtual meetings.

Please submit nominations by August 21, 2020, to Emmanuel Guindon, Chair of the Labelle Lectureship Committee, at, and include the following information regarding the nominee:
• Full name, current position, link to their faculty page, and, when possible, an updated CV.
• A brief paragraph describing the topic on which you believe the nominated individual could present the Labelle Lecture.

Recent Labelle Lecturers include Jennifer Walker, Ruth Lavergne, Dean Spears, Antoine Boivin, Katy Kozhimannil, Onil Bhattacharyya, David Stuckler, Irfan Dhalla and Michael Law.

This Call for Nominations will close on August 21, 2020.