Awards & Honours

Recent Awards

David Feeny ranked among top 10 Social Sciences researchers in Canada

Photo of David FeenyDavid Feeny (shown right) is rated 9th among the top researchers in Canada in the fields of Social Sciences and
Humanities for 2022 by  Two other CHEPA members  John Lavis and Julia Abelson  are also ranked in the top 100 researchers in Canada, at 13th and 76th respectively.

Xie authors 2022 CAHSPR Article of the Year

Photo of Feng XieFeng Xie received the 2022 IHSPR-CAHSPR Article of The Year Award for "Economic analysis of mobile integrated health care delivered by emergency medical services paramedic teams", published in JAMA Network Open in February 2021. The $10,000 award recognizes an article’s significant impact on health services and policy research, and for the extent to it showed a clear impact (or potential impact) on policy, practice, or health outcomes. 

Canadian Academy of Health Sciences

John Lavis: Fellow (2019)

Mitchell Levine: Fellow (2021)


Endowed Chairs & Professorships

  • Ellen Amster: Hannah Chair in the History of Medicine
  • Paul Contoyannis: Head of the Health Research Unit, Athens Institute for Education and Research [ATINER])
  • Andrew Costa: Schlegel Research Chair in Clinical Epidemiology & Aging
  • David Feeny: Medical Research Council of Canada (Canadian Institutes of Health Research - CIHR)/Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association of Canada (Rx and D) Research Chair (1998-2004)
  • Emmanuel Guindon: Centre for Health Economics and Policy Analysis / Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care Chair in Health Equity
  • Michel Grignon: Health Systems and Policy Monitor (European Observatory of Health Systems and Policies, Brussels), representative for Canada
  • John Lavis: Canada Research Chair in Evidence-Informed Systems (reappointed in 2022 for a second term)
  • Lisa Schwartz:
    • Arnold L. Johnson Chair in Health Care Ethics
    • Chair, Provincial Ethics Advisory Committee (CCO)  (2001-2005)
  • Hsien Seow:
    • Canada Research Chair in Palliative Care and Health System Innovation 
    • Cancer Care Ontario Chair in Health Services Research (2009-2014)
  • Arthur Sweetman:
    • Ontario Research Chair in Health Human Resources 
    • Stauffer-Dunning Chair in Policy Studies, Queen’s University (2004-2009)
  • Jean-Éric Tarride:  McMaster Chair in Health Technology Management


Career Awards & Honours

  • Julia Abelson: Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care Career Scientist
  • David Feeny:  President’s Award, International Society for Quality of Life Research (2010)
  • John Lavis: Fellow, Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (2019)
    • CIHR Barer-Flood Prize in Health Services and Policy Research (2015)
  • Mitchell Levine: Canadian Society for Clinical Pharmacology, Senior Investigator Award (1997)
    • PMAC Health Research Foundation-Medical Research Council of Canada, Career Award in Medicine, 1992-1997
    • Canadian Association for Healthcare Reimbursement Hall of Fame (induction 2013)
    • FSORC Career Scientist Award, 1999-2007
  • Daria O'Reilly: Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-term Care Career Scientist Award
  • Jean-Éric Tarride: Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care Career Scientist Award (2007)
  • Feng Xie: Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care Career Scientist Award (2010)


Early Researcher Awards

  • Julia Abelson: CIHR New Investigator award
  • Andrew Costa: CIHR - Institute of Health Services and Policy Research, Rising Star Award (2011)
  • Emmanuel Guindon: 
    • Ontario Early Researcher Award (2017)
    • Canadian Cancer Society career development award in prevention (2013)
    • CIHR Institute of Health Services and Policy Research Rising Star Award (2009)
  • Gillian Mulvale: Ontario Early Researcher Award (2014)
  • Daria O'Reilly: Ontario Early Researcher Award (2014)
  • Hsien Seow: 
    • CIHR New Investigator Award
    • Multinational Association of Supportive Care in Cancer (MASCC)
    • MASCC Young Investigator Award (2010)
  • Michael Wilson: CIHR- Institute of Health Services and Policy Research, Rising Star Award (2009)
  • Feng Xie: CIHR New Investigator Award (2010-2015)

Other Research Awards

Teaching Awards

  • Elizabeth Alvarez: HEI Teaching Award, Full-time/Joint Category (2018-19)
  • Andrew Costa:
    • Regional Assistant Dean’s Award of Excellence in Medical Education, DeGroote School of Medicine (2018)
    • HEI Mentorship & Supervision Excellence Award (Full Time/Joint Faculty) (2018) 
    • Nominated to Canada's Top 40 Under 40, Faculty of Health Sciences, McMaster University
  • John Lavis:
    •  President's Award for Excellence in Graduate Supervision (2017)
    •  Canadian Health Services Research Foundation (CHSRF) Family Award (2007)
  • Mitchell Levine:
    • Dr. Ari Shali Award for Dedication and Excellence in Teaching, McMaster University MD Program (2014)
    • Certificate of Merit Award for Teaching Excellence, Department of Medicine, McMaster University
  • Arthur Sweetman: - President’s Award for Excellence in Graduate Supervision (2019)
  • Lisa Schwartz: HEI Teaching Award, Full-time/Joint Category (2019-2020)
  • Jean-Éric Tarride: Department of Clinical Epidemiology & Biostatistics (CEB) Mentoring/Supervision award (2012)
  • Meredith Vanstone:
    • McMaster President’s Award for Excellence in Graduate Student Supervision (2022)
    • Canadian Association of Medical Education (CAME) Meridith Marks New Educator Award (2020)
    • Faculty of Health Sciences Award for Excellence in Graduate Supervision (2018)

Faculty Awards

  • Emma Apatu: MacPherson Institute Leadership in Teaching and Learning Fellowship (2020)
  • Ellen Amster: McMaster University Faculty Association (MUFA) Award for Outstanding Service to the university (2019) 
  • Arthur Sweetman: McMaster Faculty of Health Sciences Impact Award (2020)

 Other Accolades

  • Amiram Gafni: In the 2011 World Bank rankings of health economics researchers (Journal of Health Economics, 2012, 31:406-439 (Table 5) ranked equal 35th in the world (equal 1st in Canada) based on the volume and impact of his publications.
  • Michel Grignon: President, McMaster Faculty Association
  • Gillian Mulvale: Gold Medal, Academy of Interactive and Visual Arts (AIVA), for Experience-based Design, web and mobile application suite, myEXP, developed in partnership with WeUsThem 




McMaster University Social Sciences

Accessibility for Ontarians With Disabilities Act (AODA)


The Faculty of Health Sciences is committed to providing a website that is accessible to the widest possible audience. If there is an accessibility issue with this website, please contact us at