To create a pictorial history of McMaster's Faculty of Health Sciences by honouring alumni, faculty and staff who have brought distinction and recognition to McMaster University and the Faculty of Health Sciences through their outstanding achievement.

Annually, up to five individuals may be selected for inclusion in the Community of Distinction.

The successful nominee will satisfy one of the following:

  • Distinguished contribution in scholarship, or
  • Conspicuous contribution in the science or delivery of health care, or
  • Demonstrated outstanding leadership that is recognized by his/her peers

Recognition in the Community of Distinction is open to former full-time and part-time faculty, staff and alumni of the Faculty of Health Sciences. The candidates cannot be currently employed or hold a contract with the Faculty of Health Sciences.

Award Committee

Selection of inductees for the Faculty of Health Sciences Community of Distinction is done by the Faculty’s Awards and Nominations Committee chaired by Susan Denburg, Associate Vice-President, Academic.

  1. In the spring of each year, there will be a call for nominations: 2020 Call for nominations to the Community of Distinction
  2. Nominations must be e-mailed to an address indicated in the Call for Nominations no later than the deadline set out in the Call for Nominations.
  3. The nominator must indicate whether the nomination is for an individual or a team, and must attach a supporting narrative of not more than seven-hundred and fifty (750) words. A few graphics or pictures (not of the nominee) to illustrate the contribution are allowed by attachment.
  4. Each nomination must be supported by a minimum of two (2), and not more than four (4) references, who must also submit their nomination support, either through the nominator, or independently in an e-mail format. References should not exceed one-hundred and fifty (150) words.
  5. Please include a curriculum vitae (CV) for the nominee.
  6. Position and contact information for the nominator and all references must be clearly indicated and must reference the name of the individual being nominated.
  7. Nominations of candidates who are not selected for induction the first time they are nominated will be carried forward for a three (3) year period.

Nominations and references should be submitted to:

For further information or to submit nominations and references, please contact:

Betty Chung email: chungb@mcmaster.ca

Phone: 905-525-9140 ext. 20914


The individuals selected to be honoured will be notified by the Dean and Vice-President and will be invited to attend a special reception in their honour.


The Community of Distinction program will be managed by the Faculty of Health Sciences Advancement Office.

Do you know a former faculty, staff or alumni member who is deserving of being recognized by the Faculty of Health Sciences at McMaster University?

Nominations are now open for the 2020 inductees to the Community of Distinction.

The Community of Distinction is the Faculty of Health Sciences' highest honour, in tribute to those who have brought worldwide renown to the university.

The Community was founded in 2003 and has since inducted 60 members. Their portraits, and a description of their work, are in a gallery in the lobby of the Ewart Angus Centre of McMaster's Health Sciences Centre.

"Those inducted into the Community have made a tremendous impact on the advancement of health sciences and education in Canada and around the world," said Paul O'Byrne, dean and vice-president of the Faculty of Health Sciences. "Recipients often tell us that being recognized by their peers at the Faculty of Health Sciences makes this honour a highlight of their careers."

The 2019 inductees were Malcolm Sears, Gina Browne, and Del Harnish.

The criterion is distinguished contribution in scholarship or in the science or delivery of health care, or demonstrated outstanding leadership that is recognized by peers. Those eligible include former full-time and part-time faculty, staff and alumni of the Faculty of Health Sciences. Candidates cannot be currently employed by or hold a contract with the Faculty of Health Sciences. An outline of requirements may be found at Community of Distinction Nomination Criteria

The deadline for nominations is Friday, June 5, 2020. An event to honour the new inductees will be held in November.

For more information, please contact Betty Chung by email at chungb@mcmaster.ca or by phone at 905-525-9140, ext. 20914.

Accessibility for Ontarians With Disabilities Act (AODA)


The Faculty of Health Sciences is committed to providing a website that is accessible to the widest possible audience. If there is an accessibility issue with this website, please contact us at fhsweb@mcmaster.ca.